SMB ELATE Committee

MMB ELATE committee

Dale Hancock, Charles Collyer, Lana Hebden, Jill Johnston, Helen Agus, Tim Newsome, Gareth Denyer (absent in photo)

Who we are

The Excellence in Learning, Assessment, Teaching & Evaluation Committee (ELATE) of the School of Molecular Bioscience in the Faculty of Science is relatively ‘young’ having been active since 2007 and following the merger of three departments within that newly formed School. This new structure necessitated a School-wide process of uniform procedures to underpin and support excellence in learning and teaching within the School.

The Committee is led by its Chair Helen Agus (2007-9) and Jill Johnston (2010- ) with a team of 9 committee members from the discipline areas of:
Molecular Biology & Genetics
Nutrition & Metabolism
Structural Biology
Proteomics & Biotechnology
together with the Academic Support Office of the School of Molecular Bioscience.


ELATE strives to achieve excellence in learning and teaching by fostering a strong teaching culture. Procedures have been implemented to ensure best practise by formally seeking and reacting to student feedback and by engaging and mentoring staff to support individuals to achieve teaching excellence.


The ELATE Committee has developed a model for exemplary practice in School-based learning and teaching administration and promotion that could readily be translated to other areas.

In 2009 the ELATE Committee was awarded one of three Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Systems that Achieve Collective Excellence in Teaching and Learning.